WHEN SOMEONE DIES

Cat love

When someone dies, after the shock, the denial, the tearful goodbyes; after the guilt of what more could I have done; after following their ghost-flickers  in places they once were, I stop and remind myself that others have gone before them, blazed the trail across the Bridge, and somehow that makes this new loss easier to bear.

My mother and father, my grandmother and grandfather, my ancestors that I’ve traced in name back through the years have all passed that way and are now a memorial on a hill and a spirit flying free.

Friends I remember, Scotty, James, Jon and Steve, Janice and Stewart, Dave, Karl, all gone before their time, no longer troubled by sickness and strife.

Those names and faces we come to love through their gifts: Nimoy, Yelchin, Bowie, Rickman, Prince, Lennon, Harrison, Joplin, Hendrix, Monroe, Kennedy, Kennedy, King, Armstrong. Their star-fall has blazed the trail.

And the cats: Mufasa, Tinkerbelle, Dirty Harry, Wrangler, Graywood, Attilla, Two, Purr Fur, and now, Big Red. There are so many, so many! I see them gathered at the Rainbow Bridge and know it is the way of nature.

IMG_20160505_161739272_HDR

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Cats, Death & Dying and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHEN SOMEONE DIES

  1. jowensauthor says:

    A lovely sentiment. I hope one day to be able to meet lost loved ones across the Rainbow Bridge. And I’m sorry for your loss 😦

Leave a Reply

