LUX – STILL GOOD

This month marked the 2-year anniversary of my experience with Lux, the cat whose family called 911 when he had an aggressive and threatening outburst after the baby pulled his tail. It was May 2, 2014 that I experienced one of Lux’s outbursts firsthand, and yes, it was as scary as the family had described.

Thanks to Jackson Galaxy and Animal Planet, Lux was given a chance, more than most aggressive cats get. There isn’t a long life expectancy in most shelters for cats who are violent. Jackson wanted to turn the tables and show that even a cat with a history of aggression can give and receive love. It didn’t turn out as we’d hoped, for Lux to remain with me, but he is now well established in a fine place where he has all that love and care he deserves. In between naps, walks, and treats, behaviorists are working with him, finding what makes him act out and trying to change it.

Thanks again to Jackson Galaxy for his belief in Lux and his active love of all felines, no matter what. Here are some of my favorite photos of sweet Luxie.

04-11-14 017 - Copy     04-10-14 Lux 001 - Copy

0412141345b (2)     04-10-14 LUX 5

04-29-14 sm Mr Lucky 003     04-24-14 010

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Cat Behavior, Cats, Lux and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to LUX – STILL GOOD

  1. jowensauthor says:

    Glad Lux is doing well and they’re still working with him. Hope they can figure out soon what’s causing him to act out.

  2. SD Gates says:

    He sure is a cute guy!!!!!

  3. jenny says:

    Hope he is doing good

  4. Liz says:

    Where is Lux now? I just finished watching the repeat episode about him. The last place I knew him to be was with you.
    Thank you for any news you can give me about this beautiful boy. He just touched my heat so.

  5. Teri OFFIELD says:

    I hope Lux is doing good. Thanks to everyone who is involved in helping him. Angels, all of you

  6. really beautiful cat,my neighbor had a cat suffering from feline hypereasthesia and she has since passed away from cancer but in her case he had one aprticulary violent episode which resulted in her needing anitbioctic through iv for three days and shortly before her cancer diagnosis,she elected to have him put down,didn’t have the money to treat him and didn’t feel like she could rehome in.it was sad outcome glad Luxe’s case is happier.but enen so midnight was about twelve when he was put down.

    • Mollie Hunt says:

      That’s a sad story. Few people have the resources of Jackson Galaxy, and no one should be put in danger from their cat. Hopefully Lux’s story has pushed ahead the search for a cure. Thanks for your comment.

  7. Glad to hear that Lux he is “… healthy, happy, and loved.”

    I’m touched by your commitment and love. We are lucky to live with social media; that our curiosity can be addressed and 2 years later, when I saw the episode of My Cat From Hell for the 1st time, I could find your blog. Thank you for your post. I’ll be checking in from time to time. I like your blog subtitle. 🙂

  8. Jean says:

    I just saw the cat from hell episode about Lux. I am glad he seems to be doing well but I had hoped you Molly and husband could have kept him. I know you truly loved him. I just wanted to say thank you for being you and taking in and lovingly helping needy cats. I adopt strays that show up hungry and homeless. I also raised a puppy, Pekingese, that was closed to death when we first got her. She couldn’t even hold her little head up or had the strength to suckle. Fed her pup formula with eye dropper. It wás months before she could stand on all fours. Bless her little heart, she just passed away this March, 2016 at the age of 14. We always called her Baby but named her Gidget. We now have two kittens,sisters whose mother couldn’t nurse them. They are almost 6 months and thriving.We also have a Border Collie who showed up one December during a snow blizzard. We also have a lovebird who needed a home. It makes no difference which type of animal, we try to help all we can. Thanks again MollyI hope you continue to be able to help needy cats. I wish we lived close, I think we could be friends..

    • Mollie Hunt says:

      Sorry for the loss of your sweet puppy. I know how hard it is. It was hard also to accept that my husband and I neither had the facilities or the know how the accommodate poor Luxie. He is currently in appropriate, professional, and extremely loving care. Yes, I continue to care for cats in need and hope I always will.

  9. Jean says:

    Molly, I had posted a nice message but it disappeared somehow. Anyway, I want to thank you for helping the Humane Society and especially for taking Lux into your home. I know you wanted to keep him and I am sorry if didn’t work out. I hope they are able to help the sweet little man and someday maybe he can return to your loving home. You are one of the “good guys”.

Leave a Reply

