33: LUX – ONE YEAR LATER

A year ago today I met Lux. Though I knew it was an important meeting, I had no idea at the time how defining that moment would be for me. Not being clairvoyant, I knew nothing of the bonding, the betrayal, the anxiety, heartbreak and ultimate triumph to come. I couldn’t even have imagined it, since nothing in my life had come close to what happened next.

I have described my journey in my detailed 32-part blog and have nothing new to add. Still, it seems important to mark this anniversary, and what better way than with poor but heartfelt poetry?

04-24-14 010

Lux

Ghost cat, into my heart.
Eyes, questioning sorrow.
Fur soft as roses
bristles electric.
Is that what happens inside your loving head?

Can I take back?
Take you back?
Would it be the end of us
or another beginning?

That ship has sailed.
You have moved on.
I will see you again.
Soon.

cat yin yang 3

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Cat Behavior, Cats, Lux, lux 911 cat, memoir, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 33: LUX – ONE YEAR LATER

  1. Erica Herd says:

    What happened to Lux?

  2. Marci says:

    What a poignant way to mark the anniversary of this meeting. I hope that Lux is well, and that your growth and healing finds you in a peaceful place ❤

  3. Fran Ryan says:

    Mollie, I just have one question? Is our little guy alive and well? I think about his well being quite often.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  4. Mik Foss says:

    I started reading your blog every few weeks because of Lux but I’ve kept coming back even after I thought you were done telling his story. I’m glad to see he still lives on here. You are a very special person. I will continue to return to get a glimpse of your wonderful view of the world we live in, and maybe for a few more special moments with this wonderful cat. Thank you for sharing.

  5. MJ says:

    Jackson just ran the repeat of the extended version of his work with Lux and his original guardians that eventually brought Lux to you. I was hoping for a current status on Lux, but it was the same epilogue as the original, stating that Lux was with you. I wish Jackson would update Lux’s current status too.

    • Mollie Hunt says:

      Apparently they ran a repeat of the Lux story last night. I knew nothing about it and don’t get the Animal Planet channel. Lux’s story is still ongoing; someday Jackson will be ready to tell us more. He is still involved in Lux’s loving care.

  6. I’m glad to hear he’s doing OK. I still say prayers for him every morning.

  7. Rebecc says:

    I can’t even finish watching this episode, I see it is from 2014 so hopefully this cat still isn’t institutionalize.
    And that Jackson has quit with this Medication fetish…
    This cat’s ‘baby’ pulls his tail, then his ‘dad’ try’s to kick him! (thank goodness he mostly missed) then his ‘mom’ and Whole family go running and hiding like ‘prey’ and Jackson can’t figure this out?!? This poor cat has been betrayed by his family in Cat terms. 😔😔😔 Lux isn’t crazy, I would react the same way in that situation. 🙀🙀🙀🙀🙀

  8. Charlotte says:

    Hi Mollie, can you share what medications were used on Lux that you felt were successful? FHS is a very rare and misunderstood condition, and the Vets we all see for our FHS kitties don’t always know everything, if anything at all about it. I personally have tried a ba-jillion things on my kitty. Would love to know if there’s something else I haven’t tried. Thank you.

    • Mollie Hunt says:

      Hi, Charlotte. I appreciate your concern for Lux and cats with Feline Hyperesthesia Syndrome. It was determined after more testing that Lux did not have FHS (see my blogpost from 12/16/2016 http://wp.me/p3rtQm-zw) after all. As you said, it is a misunderstood condition that doctors don’t always agree about. It can manifest as anything from a little tickle (mild) to cases where the cat literally mangles its tail (severe). When Lux was thought to have FHS, he was given gabapentin, which seems to be the go-to drug for FHS around here. Aside from getting sleepy, he did not respond to the treatment in spite of increased doses. This news probably won’t help your kitty, except possibly to encourage you to explore other causes besides FHS for her behavior. Thank you for caring and best of hopes for kitty.

Leave a Reply

