10 THINGS I LEARNED FROM SELF-PUBLISHING

imagesQ5KWI31O

In a conversation the other day, I mentioned I was self-published. Suddenly instead of discussing the launch of my second book, my friends wanted to know all about my self-publishing experience. Self-publishing is the topic of the day: Is it hard to self-publish? Are self-published books inferior? Are only press-published books worth reading? Can I be a real author?

Wikipedia defines self-publishing as “the publication of any book or other media by the author of the work, without the involvement of an established third-party publisher.” With print-on-demand (POD) and e-book technology, self-publishing is within every writer’s grasp. The quality of your writing and the scope of your sales, however, depend entirely upon you.

I don’t pretend to be an expert on self-publishing, but in my opinion, expert advice may be of limited help. If I hadn’t jumped off the cliff into the abyss of the self-publishing unknown, I wouldn’t be where I am today. I’m not rich, so if you’re looking for a “get rich from writing” scheme, you’ll have to find another blog, but I am happy. I am writing. I am selling. The road ahead is filled with promise. What more can I ask?

My conversation got me thinking about what I’ve learned in the past 2 years since I began my self-publishing journey. Here’s what I’ve come up with:

  1. There is life after rejection slips.
  2. Nothing is as gratifying as holding your published book in your hands.
  3. Everyone needs an editor, both for copy and content.
  4. Before you publish, proof proof proof.
  5. Love your work before you ask someone else to love it.
  6. Formatting is vital; space between paragraphs or random blank pages look sloppy.
  7. Self-publishing can be done on a small budget; self-publicity may be another matter.
  8. CreateSpace POD copies are cheap; give them to everyone who cares.
  9. Covers matter, as do preface, dedication, copyright page, etc. Make them great, too.
  10. Never stop writing. The rest is fluff.

My books are published in both e-book form through Amazon and print form through CreateSpace, an Amazon company. I have no experience with other companies, though there are several. They range in cost. Amazon is free. Good luck, have fun.

ae8e212ef977b6f62d21dc92fa8141bb

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Crazy Cat Lady Mysteries & More, Portland Oregon Writers & Media, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

