22: LUX – CAT SCAN, MAY 13, 2014

 

MOLLIE HUNT 073It was actually an MRI, not a cat scan, and we were set to meet Jackson Galaxy and his producer at the medical center. It was a perfect May day, warm and sunshine-filled. We had picked up Lux from boarding and he seemed sweet as ever. My heart went out to him and I felt no fear. That’s a lie – I felt fear, the same as I’d been feeling for the past two long agonizing weeks, but it wasn’t his fault and I was damned if I’d let it color my time with him. Hopefully later in the day, the mystery would be solved. We would find out the cause of his outbursts and work on the cure. Then everything would be good again.

Like any medical procedure, there was the interview with the doctor and then the long wait. It was going to be several hours until the anesthetic wore off and we could pick Lux up so we went to lunch at a vegan place since Jackson and the producer are vegan. I had kale salad of which I ate only a few bites. Not that I don’t love kale, but along with the other manifestations of my anxiety, I had quit eating.

Still, it was a good time. As wise and knowledgeable as Jackson is, he is also a good listener. He’s interested in what other people have to say. We talked about the shelter system; the ASAP (Animal Shelter Alliance of Portland*) who had banded together all the local animal welfare groups, making a drastic difference in euthanasia rates; as well as other things, some having nothing to do with cats!

Then we went home to hang on for the news.

cat yin yang 3

*“ASAP stands for the Animal Shelter Alliance of Portland, greater metro area. This acronym was chosen because the mission of ASAP is, indeed, one of urgency. Our mission is to end the euthanasia of social, healthy, and treatable cats and dogs in our local shelters by collaborating on spay/neuter programs, educational and outreach efforts, and the promotion of humane alternatives for feral cats. In the past 7 years, ASAP has reduced euthanasia in Portland’s shelters by 76% and now saves 91% of cats and dogs – making our community one of the safest for pets in the nation!” http://asapmetro.org/

logo

 

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Cat Behavior, Cats, lux 911 cat, memoir, Portland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 22: LUX – CAT SCAN, MAY 13, 2014

  1. masochancer says:

    Cant wait for more posts! You certainly know how to build suspense!

Leave a Reply

