“COPY CATS” SNEEK PEEK

BookCoverPreview[1] - Copy

     “THE ROOM WAS SILENT.
Not a breath, not a sneeze, not a cell phone ping sounded throughout the crowd. Attention focused on the woman on the dais as if she were the only star in the sky.
In a high-backed antique wing chair, its gold brocade at odds with the austerity of the convention room, she sat like a rock star queen. A single spot shone down on her generous proportions.
Her eyes were closed.
In her hand, she held a photograph.

 

 cats eye - Copy

      Chapter 1

I am the crazy cat lady, but I’m not quite crazy yet.
Basically I’m just a lady who likes cats.
And has several cats.
And volunteers at a cat shelter.
And fosters sick cats.
Well, you get the picture, but I don’t see how any of that makes me certifiable and certainly not nuts enough to believe one session with a pet psychic could break open a plot of abuse, perversion and brutal murder. Ask my friends, though I’ll admit they may be a bit biased, being mostly cat people, too. They’ll tell you I went into this with only the best intentions. I had no idea at the time where it would lead or I would never have gotten involved. But I did and once in, I had to see it through. Like the cats, curiosity trumps my better judgment every time.
I don’t know what I expected when I signed up for the Animal Communications Conference and Advanced Workshop given by the preeminent icon of pet whisperers, la Zoe. A little fun; some light entertainment. Not that I don’t believe humans can commune with their animal companions—I do. I talk to cats all the time, and usually they talk back, but it’s all pretty basic. I guess I just wanted to know if there were more to it than feed me, pet me, and what the hell do you think you’re doing if I didn’t perform the previous in a timely manner. An insight into feline philosophy, for instance? Or a catly consensus on world events? Maybe they could tell me the secrets of the universe, or even why they prefer one litter over another—that would be convenient.
Yes, animal communication would be a handy trick, though at the time I didn’t hold out much hope of ever mastering it. And it certainly never crossed my mind that if I did, I might learn things I’d rather not know.”

 

Excerpt from COPY CATS, a Crazy Cat Lady mystery by Mollie Hunt

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Crazy Cat Lady Mysteries & More, Portland Oregon Writers & Media, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

