CAT FACT: Orange is the new black

1185096_10153128974585417_51180551_n

Female orange cats must have orange fathers.

For a female cat to be orange, she must inherit two orange genes, one from her mother (orange, calico or tortoiseshell) and one from her father (who must be orange). A male cat only needs one orange gene, which he gets from his mother, because the gene that codes for orange fur is on the X (female sex) chromosome. Like humans, females have two X chromosomes and males are XY.

1350002569097 - Copy

Big Red

About Mollie Hunt

I am the crazy cat lady, animal shelter volunteer, Trekkie, and mystery writer. I live in the rainy Pacific Northwest and will watch any TV show or movie filmed here. Even though I am of a goodly age (sixty-something) I go to Star Trek conventions in costume and am not afraid to be by myself. I enjoy my life in the cat lane. Words to live by: Spay and neuter; Live long and prosper; Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.
This entry was posted in Cats, Kitty How-To Instruction Manual. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CAT FACT: Orange is the new black

  1. dflorack says:

    We nominated you for an award – see our blog post for details – http://chaseandginny.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/another-award/

Leave a Reply

